The National Rock Garden Pty Ltd ACN 151 118 553 (sole trustee of the NRG Trust) comprises:

A Board of Directors

(The Governing Body) comprising:

Professor Brad Pillans, Hon FRSNZ FGSA, Chair, National Rock Garden, Research School of Earth Sciences, Australian National University, Canberra, ACT
Mr Mike Smith, FGSA, Hon MASEG,FAIG, RPGeo, General Manager Exploration, Austpac Resources N.L., 62 Pitt Street Sydney, NSW
Mr John Bain, MGSA, Curator of the National Rock Garden, Canberra, ACT
Ms Michelle Cooper, Geoscience Australia, Canberra, ACT

Shareholder (the Geological Society of Australia) with the Chief Executive Officer of the GSA, Ms Sue Fletcher, serving as the Treasurer of the Company.


The NRG Advisory Council is comprised of influential scientists, community representatives and business people including:

Dr James Johnson, CEO, Geoscience Australia
Dr Neil Williams, Honorary Professor, Australian National University and former CEO, Geoscience Australia
Dr Graham Durant, Director, Questacon
Shenal Basnayake, CEO, Australian Science Teachers Association
Prof. Tom Calma AO, Chancellor, University of Canberra
Dr Mathew Trinca, Director, National Museum of Australia
Tom Kapitany, Director, National Dinosaur Museum
Simon Troeth, Minerals Council of Australia

Steering Committee

The National Rock Garden project is governed by a Steering Committee.

Prof. Brad Pillans, Australian National University and GSA Past President

John Bain, Curator, National Rock Garden 
Dr Marita Bradshaw, consulting petroleum geologist

Michelle Cooper, Geoscience Australia
Dr Rowena Duckworth, Gnomic Exploration Services and Mintex Petrological Solutions
Prof. Ken McQueen, University of Canberra
Mike Smith, General Manager Exploration, Austpac Resources N.L.,
Matt Townsend, Geological Society of Australia
Dr Peter Williams, Aurel Consulting, representing AusIMM Geoscience Society

It is anticipated that others may be invited to join the Steering Committee as the project develops.


Several Advisory Committees (comprising Directors and other Responsible Persons appointed by the Directors) to advise the Board and/or carry out management functions delegated by the Board, including the NRG Sub-Committees:

- Finance and Risk Sub-Committee
- Rock Selection Sub-Committee
- Landscape Design Sub-Committee
- Communications and Outreach Sub-Committee
- Education Sub-Committee
- The Friends of the National Rock Garden
Marita Bradshaw, consulting petroleum geologist